30-plus A&M physicists help to confirm Higgs field


A group of physicists from Texas A&M University are basking in the worldwide glow of big science, based on their critical supporting role along with thousands of scientists across the globe in the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physics, awarded today (Oct. 8) by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences to theorists Peter Higgs and Francois Englert to recognize their work developing the theory of what is now known as the Higgs field, credited for giving elementary particles mass.

Higgs and Englert specifically were cited “for the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles, and which recently was confirmed through the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle, by the ATLAS and CMS experiments at CERN’s Large Hadron Collider.”

U.S. scientists — including more than 30 from Texas A&M’s George P. and Cynthia Woods Mitchell Institute for Fundamental Physics and Astronomy involved in the CMS experiment — played a significant role in advancing the theory and in discovering the particle that proves the existence of the Higgs field, the Higgs boson.

More at the College of Science