National Academy of Inventors selects Prockop, Russell as Fellows

row of light bulbs with one lit

Image: / Rellas

The National Academy of Inventors (NAI) announced this week that two researchers from Texas A&M University, Darwin J. Prockop and B. Don Russell, Jr., will become NAI Fellows this spring.

Prockop and Russell are among 170 new Fellows to be inducted during the NAI’s 4th Annual Conference on March 20 at the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena. NAI Fellows are academic inventors and innovators who are named on U.S. patents and were nominated by their peers for outstanding contributions to innovation.

Texas A&M Vice President for Research Glen A. Laine said, “I am pleased and excited that these outstanding faculty members have been recognized for their applied research, which contributes to our mission as a land grant institution.”


Darwin Prockop

Prockop is the Stearman Chair in Genomic Medicine and a professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at the Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Medicine. He directs the Texas A&M College of Medicine’s Institute for Regenerative Medicine at Scott & White Hospital in Temple, Texas.  Prockop holds 20 U.S. patents and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the National Institute of Medicine.

Russell is the Harry E. Bovay, Jr. Chair Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering in the Dwight Look College of Engineering at Texas A&M, as well as a Regents Professor and a Distinguished Professor. He holds 13 U.S. patents and is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.  Russell is a Fellow of five other societies, including the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the National Society of Professional Engineers, the National Academy of Forensic Engineers, and the British Institution of Engineering and Technology.

Following the induction ceremony in March, the total number of NAI Fellows will come to 414, representing more than 150 prestigious


B. Don Russell, Jr

research universities and governmental and non-profit research institutions. NAI Fellows include 61 presidents and senior leadership of research universities and non-profit research institutes, 208 members of the other National Academies, 21 inductees of the National Inventors Hall of Fame, 16 recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Technology and Innovation, 10 recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Science, 21 Nobel Laureates, 11 Lemelson-MIT prize recipients, 112 American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows, and 62 IEEE Fellows, among other awards and distinctions.

The 2014 NAI Fellows Selection Committee comprises 17 members, including NAI Fellows, recipients of U.S. National Medals, National Inventors Hall of Fame inductees, members of the National Academies and senior officials from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, the Association of American Universities, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Association of University Technology Managers, and the National Inventors Hall of Fame.

More at the College of Engineering and the College of Medicine