Beilby Medal and Prize for 2016 presented to A&M chemist Banerjee

Man receives award from another man

Image: College of Science

Sarbajit Banerjee, professor of chemistry at Texas A&M University, has been awarded the 2016 Beilby Medal and Prize in recognition of his early career accomplishment in novel materials design and application.

The prestigious award, presented to Banerjee in London last week, is jointly conferred once every three years by the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining, the Royal Society of Chemistry, and the Society of Chemical Industry in recognition of significant contributions to chemical engineering, applied materials science or energy efficiency by a researcher under 40 years of age. The medal is a memorial to Sir George Thomas Beilby, who served as president of all three bodies. Founded after his death in 1924, it was first awarded in 1930.

Banerjee, 37, joined the Texas A&M Department of Chemistry faculty in 2014 and is also an affiliated faculty member in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering. Previously in November, he also received the Rosenhain Medal and Prize recognizing distinguished achievement in materials science — the highest young researcher award presented by IOM3 as the premier global network for professionals in materials science.

More at the College of Science