Skip to Main Content

AAAS names seven A&M System faculty members as 2020 Fellows

Photo: / Sergey Nivens

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) will induct seven faculty members from The Texas A&M University System — six from Texas A&M University and one from Texas A&M University-Kingsville — as 2020 AAAS Fellows during the association’s virtual annual meeting on Feb. 8, 2021, Texas A&M University’s Division of Research announced today.

They are among 489 scientists, engineers and innovators recognized by AAAS this year for their achievements across multiple disciplines.

“Congratulations to our 2020 class of AAAS Fellows,” Vice President for Research Mark A. Barteau said. “Each of these outstanding faculty members has made significant contributions to the advancement of science around the world, as well as to The Texas A&M University System, Texas A&M and our research missions.”

The 2020 AAAS Fellows from Texas A&M University are:

  • Harold Boas, Regents Professor, Department of Mathematics, College of Science, AAAS Section on Mathematics, for “outstanding contributions to research in complex analysis, communication of mathematics and service to the profession.”
  • David Cairns, department head and professor, Department of Geography, College of Geosciences, AAAS Section on Geology and Geography, for “distinguished contributions to the understanding of tree-line dynamics and cold-climate ecotones, along with fostering interdisciplinary Arctic science and academic administration.”
  • Paul Hardin, University Distinguished Professor, Department of Biology, College of Science, AAAS Section on Biological Sciences, for “distinguished contributions to the field of biological rhythms, particularly for discovering molecular feedback loops that govern circadian timekeeping in all eukaryotes.”
  • Ravi Kumar, professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, College of Pharmacy, AAAS Section on Pharmaceutical Sciences, for “distinguished contributions to the field of drug delivery, particularly the next-generation polyesters and non-competitive targeting strategies that are of profound significance to human health.”
  • William Murphy, professor, Department of Veterinary Integrative Biosciences, College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, AAAS Section on Biological Sciences, for “distinguished contributions to the field of comparative genomics, particularly for mammalian chromosome and felid evolution advances.”
  • Karen Wooley, University Distinguished Professor and holder of the W.T. Doherty-Welch Foundation Chair, Department of Chemistry, College of Science, AAAS Section on Chemistry, for “distinguished contributions to the fields of organic and polymer chemistry, particularly for the synthesis and applications of two-dimensional polymers and porous polymer networks.”

The 2020 AAAS Fellow from Texas A&M-Kingsville is:

  • Mohammad Alam, dean and professor, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering, AAAS Section on Engineering, for “distinguished contributions to the field of pattern recognition, particularly for modeling and development of ultrafast architectures and algorithms for detection, recognition and tracking.”