Skip to Main Content

Four A&M professors named as NAI Senior Members


The National Academy of Inventors (NAI) announced today four Texas A&M University faculty members as 2022 NAI Senior Members: three from the College of Engineering and one from Texas A&M Health.

They are among 83 academic inventors from 41 member institutions and research universities who are named in today’s NAI announcement. Collectively, the 2022 class of NAI Senior Members has produced more than 1,093 issued U.S. patents, the NAI said.

The 2022 NAI Senior Members from Texas A&M are:

Melissa A. Grunlan, Charles H. and Bettye Barclay Professor in Engineering, Department of Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering

Magnus Höök, University Distinguished Professor, Department of Infectious and Inflammatory Diseases, Institute of Biosciences and Technology, Texas A&M Health

Andreas A. Polycarpou, James J. Cain ’51 Chair Professor, J. Mike Walker ’66 Department of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering

Taylor Ware, associate professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering

The academy will induct its newest NAI Senior Members during its 11th annual meeting on June 14-15 in Phoenix. The NAI established the title of NAI Senior Member in 2019.

This year’s selections bring the number of current Texas A&M faculty members who are NAI Senior Members to 15. In addition, 16 current or past A&M faculty members are NAI Fellows.

NAI is a member organization comprising U.S. and international universities and governmental and non-profit research institutes with more than 4,000 individual inventor members and fellows spanning more than 250 institutions worldwide.