New chemist named A&M’s second CPRIT Scholar in Cancer Research

Video: The Division of Research

A Texas A&M University chemist-to-be is among the scientists and companies selected by the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT) to receive a total of 58 research grants to advance the fight against cancer.

Dr. Jonathan Sczepanski is one of three recently announced statewide recipients of a $2 million First-Time, Tenure-Track Faculty Member recruitment grant — one-time awards intended to help bring cancer scientists and emerging researchers to academic institutions across Texas. A rising star at The Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, Calif., Sczepanski is set to join the Texas A&M Department of Chemistry in August as an assistant professor and the university’s second CPRIT Scholar in Cancer Research, joining the Texas A&M Health Science Center’s Yun (Nancy) Huang, who became the first in May 2014.

Sczepanski is one of 55 First-Time, Tenure-Track Faculty Members — one of four classifications designated as CPRIT Scholars — who have relocated to Texas institutions as a result of the program since it began in 2009. He plans to use his grant to develop a research program at the interface of cancer research and chemical biology.

“Dr. Sczepanski’s research program will be highly complementary of ongoing efforts at Texas A&M, thereby catalyzing new campus-wide strengths in the chemical biology of cancer,” said Dr. François P. Gabbaï, professor and head of Texas A&M Chemistry and holder of the Arthur E. Martell Endowed Chair in Chemistry.

More at the College of Science